Monday, 13 October 2008

Who am I trying to kid …?

I was up in plenty of time on Saturday and feeling pretty fresh (for 4:30am). It was getting light outside and the rain had stopped for the time being but was a bit windy. Great conditions to give the Trail Sensors a further try out. Nothing doing. I just didn’t want to go. The wrench was that Stacey was away for the evening so I wouldn’t be able to fit it in later in the day so if I didn’t go, I was going to miss it. And so it came to pass.

I just can’t put my finger on why it’s like this. I went out and did 23km Sunday afternoon as soon as Stacey was back (my first run longer than 15km since Glasshouse) and while it was bloody hard going I was glad to get out there so the lack of motivation is a bit puzzling. As far as the run is concerned it was a route I hadn’t taken for nearly a year and tough as it went, it was still nearly half an hour quicker than the last time! The shoes are a different story though. Went well for most of the way but with about 10km to go and getting tired, I was getting a hot spot on the back of the left heel. Still, that means they went for 13km with nothing so getting better. They didn’t seem too hot this time either but they weren’t particularly hot warm conditions (humid though). Still not completely happy with them. I have a new pair of Montrail’s that I’m looking forward to using as they feel incredibly comfortable and light and may prove to be the ideal race shoe for me, at least that’s what I’m thinking at the moment.

So, another week and there will be no long run this Saturday morning as we’re away overnight and I’ll have too much to do. Maybe a run along surfers the following morning as we’re staying there so we’ll see how it goes.

No comments: