Didn't make it out on Saturday morning. I was up at five, had a good sleep too but just couldn't be bothered. I'm finding it increasingly difficult to front up. Hoping it will wear off soon.
It’s funny, about February last year I did my first 15km training run on the trails and was delighted to finish in what was probably about 6min/km pace. I went out for about the same on Saturday evening (longest run since Glasshouse – I’ve been enjoying the rest!) and felt like I struggled all the way around and was a bit disappointed that I only just crept under 5min/km pace. Then I thought back to early last year and it soon brought me down to earth. The new shoes have given me hot spots on both heels (I've had this before with Asics trail shoes) so may have to tape them until they're worn in.
The past is behind us, but it sometimes pays to look back at it in order that you can appreciate how far you’ve come and how tough it was/how long it took to arrive. It also gives you an idea of how far you have to go too!
We didn't get over to Bribie for the 3km run, Rhys said he didn't want to do it and as he's agreed to join little athletics I wasn't going to push him for the sake of it. No run for me either yesterday. Incredibly I was duty bound to sit down with a beer and watch the NRL final with Stacey and actually changes out of my running gear to do it!
No comments:
Post a Comment