Monday, 10 December 2007

Shit!

This afternoon I went and did the 15.4 km run that is actually 14.99 km (bloody Garmin!).

I had all the wrong omens before I went out. Went to the toilet before I left and was obviously dehydrated – don’t know why, though we had no sleep last night, really hot (and not fun hot!!)

I left at 3:00pm and just couldn’t get into it. Have a sore quad and knee on my right leg too (not bad, just feeling it a bit) which I suspect is attributable to my favouring my ankle a bit (run wasn’t helped by the fact that I had a couple of calls on my mobile from Fone Zone (some of my old team asking how a few things were set up, etc.). Didn’t mind but the disruptions didn’t help the mood.

Ho hum, lessons learned. Very comfortable pace fore the GH 100 in September, if I could keep it up for 160 km I’d come in at around 17 hours ... I must be on the right track!!

The Garmin is a revelation (apart from the inaccuracy of the distance of course).

Sunday, 9 December 2007

Aren't Garmin's amazing?

Went out and got one today - a Garmin that is (Forerunner 301).

Been putting it off as I couldn't justify it (not to me, to the wife!).

What a reveleation, not only the detail and data it captures but how far out is the odometer on the 4x4 (over reading sadly, I haven't been doing more k's than I thought)?

Running a little bit, planning to up the tempo a bit and start back seriously this coming week. Hares and Hounds in five weeks.